Our Feingold debut!


I have pretty much kept this whole thing secret, but we’ve been doing a lot of coming and goings to doctors’ offices and hospitals lately to get my oldest a diagnosis for his behaviour issues. Turns out it is classic ADHD symptoms and we are now being sent for a psych evaluation to get the official Dx. The thing is, it is a 1yr+ wait list for our public health system to see him, or we pay 1000$ out of pocket for a private clinic. Eeeek! So as we wait, I have decided to look into other alternative options to help him. I DO NOT want to medicate him. So I stumbled upon this awesome thing called the Feingold ADHD Diet. By removing artificial dyes/flavours/fragrances, preservatives, and salicylates (on stage 1 only), you embark on an elimination diet journey to get rid of the unwanted symptoms. I’ve already mostly de-crap’ed our house and we now use organic natural household items only (the ones approved by the diet) and we are starting the strict diet on Friday. YAY! I plan to go about it a bit differently though, being that we are already Vegan and Gluten-Free, we shall start off by going Stage 2 first. I cannot remove everything in my child’s diet. He would be surviving off of water lol. So he will enjoy his salycilate foods until we are well into this new diet journey. Once we have attained a good routine in a few months, I might consider going even further and removing those problematic foods IF needed. So here we go!

4 thoughts on “Our Feingold debut!

  1. Tiffany says:

    Hi! We are vegan and gearing up to try the Feingold diet…do you have any advice or recommendations? Is it hard to do it and be vegan? I’m SO overwhelmed!!!

    • We are currently in the process of going back to 100% vegan (were eating vegetarian + chicken a few times in the past few weeks for different reasons) and we are starting Stage 1 on April 1st. Right now, we are Stage 2, so haven’t removed the sals yet. I will let you know how it goes as we progress in this journey. But I don’t think it’ll be hard at all if we have a good selection of recipes to choose from, and to make sure DS5 doesn’t eat anything anywhere else until approved of 🙂

      • Tiffany says:

        Thank you so much for the reply! Is soy restricted? We drink Kirkland brand soy milk and I’m wondering if we are going to need to switch to something else? My membership materials are on their way so I’m waiting impatiently to get started!!!

      • No it’s not. Just salycilate foods, dyes, preservatives and artificials flavours and fragrances
        Good luck! And read read read… if you have to reread the handbook 50 times, then do so. And dont start the diet til you are completely ready and house is clean of those foods/items

Leave a Reply

